top of page
  • Writer's pictureHerzie Santos

Book Review: Hour Glass


Summary

Jimmy was only 12 when his father suffered from an illness so he and his younger sister put their dad to a wagon and pushed it all the way to Deadwood. There, they met Calamity Jane who convinced Madam Dora DuFran to let them stay at a storeroom in the back of the brothel called Diddlin' Dora's, while their pa recovered at the pest tent. She, along w/ Madam Dora DuFran, Nancy May, Missy, and the rest of the people from the brothel treated Jimmy and his family as their own. Due to unfortunate events and the fact that the brothel wasn't the kind of environment for a special child like Hour, her younger sister, they both had to leave. After 18 years, Jimmy saw Calamity Jane again and all the good and bad memories of their past came back.

Review

I truly love the different personalities of the characters including Fred, the cat. Calamity Jane, Madame DuFran, Jimmy and Hour Glass, Fred - these characters will forever be in my heart. They made me laugh and cry but most importantly, these characters showed the amazing values between a family related by blood, and a family connected by circumstances. The description details and events that happened in Deadwood were so alive that I felt every bit of incident as if I was actually there. This book is awesome from beginning to end and I recommend it to all book lovers. Regardless of what genre you prefer, this book is one heck of a good read so don't miss it! I was so into this book that I even wanted to have my own swear jar (you'll understand what I mean when you read it). Overall, this book definitely deserves a rating of 5 out of 5 stars because it is flawless. Michelle Rene didn't just "tell" an amazing story, she "showed" it with her whole heart.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page