top of page
  • Writer's pictureHerzie Santos

Book Review: Winter Cottage


Summary

Lucy Kinkaid leaves Nashville after her mother passes away. She unbelievably inherits a property in Cape Hudson, Virginia called Winter Cottage and doesn’t have any idea as to why she was bestowed of such land from a woman she never even met. She meets Hank, a man who has plans for Winter Cottage and openly expresses that Lucy is in the way of what he intends to do with the property. Given the fact that the place is too different from what Lucy has been accustomed with in the city, Hank is convinced that she won’t be able to stay for long. Though Lucy is half-hearted about staying, she slowly learns pieces of facts that could lead to her mother’s past and the identity of her father. Winter Cottage has revelations that she need to put together to understand her legacy.

Review

Winter Cottage is a romantic thriller by Mary Ellen Taylor and I’m rating it 4 out of 5 stars with a straightforward feedback that I almost gave it a lower score if I didn’t like the ending. I got lost midway because of the many character connections narrated from present to past and vice versa. It was a bit confusing but the fact that it became more and more interesting page after page, it certainly grew on me. I loved Lucy’s character whose mature and dependable personality was hidden behind her hair of blue streaks, boots, and a bit of swag. I just love how her appearance is very contradicting to her true personality. Hank, Natasha and most especially Mrs. Buchanan were all such darlings. The author made them crucial to the story and the legacy that brings Lucy to her real home. The way that each character connected to one another was beautifully written and I like the twists. I thought I would’ve been able to predict the puzzles of overwhelming revelations, but I was wrong. And for this reason, I recommend this book to readers who love mystery novels.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page