top of page
  • Writer's pictureHerzie Santos

Book Review: Beebe and Bostelmann


Summary

Beebe and Bostelmann is a historical fiction by Kent Politsch. Set in the 1920s and 30s, the author brings to life William Beebe’s descent in the Bathysphere with Otis Baron, while Else Bostelmann paints marine life during their deep-sea expeditions.


Review

For someone who doesn’t have much interest in the sea and what’s in it, by the end of this novel, I found myself wanting to understand more about the life it brings. I have nothing, but high praise for the author who blended historical events with his own creativity to tell a wonderful story. It was a good experience that had me imagining myself in a submersible and exploring the deep sea.


If there’s one thing that I think made this book more fascinating than it already is, it’s the fact that the characters are relatable. They aren’t perfect; they are flawed and are grappling with their inner selves, but in the end, it’s their personal motivation that allowed them to decide on which path to take.


Overall, I’m giving this book 5 out of 5 stars. This should serve as a tribute to explorers who risked their lives to bring awareness to everyone, that life is everywhere in our planet, and that there is life at depths never imagined. I highly recommend this book to readers who love historical fiction.


https://www.amazon.com/Beebe-Bostelmann-historical-KENT-POLITSCH-ebook/dp/B09K1RL7JZ/ref


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page