top of page
  • Writer's pictureHerzie Santos

Book Review: Born Again in America



Review

Born Again in America is a memoir by Moraima Carballo. She is  an immigrant from Cuba and in this book, she tells the heartwarming journey she and her father pursued to achieve the American Dream. Many, many times, I’ve heard, seen, and read about the American Dream, but I’ve never been enticed to pursue it because I was lucky to be born in a fairly safe place. But after reading this book, I have to be honest, it swayed me because even though I live in a safe environment, I still haven’t secured a home for myself and my three kids, which is something that is devastating for me as a single mom. I’m getting old and the older I get, the more desperate I am to fulfill my purpose and achieve all my goals in life because I know my time is limited. But of course, achieving something as big as leaving your own country entails a very rough journey and this book showed exactly that.


I’ve had a very touching and inspiring experience in reading this book. I’m glad the author decided to share her journey and I’m even more impressed by the fact that English is not her mother tongue and yet, she wrote well and depicted different phases of her rollercoaster ride in fulfilling something that she and her father have been wanting. I applaud her resilience, determination, and great love for her family. America is indeed the land of opportunity. Overall, I’m giving this memoir 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to readers who have dreams that seem very impossible to achieve. This book will give you the inspiration you need to pursue it.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page