top of page
  • Writer's pictureHerzie Santos

Book Review: Odes: Calendar Classics



Review

Odes: Calendar Classics is a collection of poems by Emily Isaacson. Growing up, my love for literature allowed me to take interest in different kinds of poems. While odes are normally introduced in class, it’s been a very, very long time since I read an anthology of odes to past the time, so I’m glad to come across Emily Isaacson’s beautiful ode collection. I do remember odes tackling subjects that have strong, emotional, and personal attachment to the writer and I saw that in this book as it gives tribute to trees selected based on the thirteen months of the Celtic Tree Calendar. While I remember that odes are commonly long poems that go into well-depicted details about the subjects, usually longer than sonnets and epics, Emily’s collection contains short but beautifully written odes. It’s a book that you can finish in one sitting. I highly recommend it to readers who love literature and poetry in particular. This one’s a good homage to trees and it reminds us of the sacred bonds between trees and people. Overall, I’m giving it 5 out of 5 stars for the author’s complete manifestation of love and devotion to trees, and for bringing out the beauty and essence of each type.


You can buy this book on the link below:

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page