top of page
Writer's pictureHerzie Santos

Book Review: TRIUMPH


Summary

TRIUMPH: A Novel of the Human Spirit is a historical drama and thriller by Jodi Lea Stewart. The story tackles one of the most contentious social conflicts – RACISM. Three families from Louisiana, Texas, and St. Louis, Missouri go through extraordinary experiences that span from 1903 to 1968. Annie and Mercy’s friendship is the focal point of the plot. Later on, they will learn of their roots, a shocking connection that proves no time and place can separate blood and real friendship.


Review

What a brilliant way to write something that would hit us right in the feels! I can’t believe the author used dual timeline and two points of view. It can be so confusing to write this way, so I am very impressed that Jodi Stewart was able to nail it.


It was the heartwarming and sometimes, amusing interracial friendship between Annie and Mercy that got me hooked. And on a different place and timeline, Simon and Flo loss their son, Willy, who got abducted by a Voodoo priestess. Who wouldn’t want to keep on reading to find out what happened to Willy and his weeping family?


My favorite moment, something I would refer to as a ‘mic drop’ moment, was how Joseph stood up for his black race when he had a big fight with Julie. I loved their conversation. I think the author’s main strength is in the dialogue and characterization, because the characters manifest their social disposition and traits by the way they talk.


Overall, I’m giving this book 5 out of 5 stars. It’s a stormy but triumphant series of three heartwarming life journeys that connect into one remarkable interracial story. I recommend this book to ALL readers who want the same reading experience as I did.


9 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page